UplinkSwitch vs kie.ai for media models

A kie.ai alternative for Veo 3.1 and Nano Banana Pro by API: kie.ai’s published price next to Google’s list and ours at every setting, the same month costed on both, and the billing rules that decide it when the per-clip gap is small.

Checked 2026-10-19

·Media model prices·Models

Who should pick which

Pick kie.ai when the per-clip price on Veo 3.1 or Nano Banana Pro is the whole decision: on 2026-10-19 its published price was under ours on 8 of the 11 settings in the table below. Pick UplinkSwitch when the price has to be fixed before the render, a failed clip has to be refunded in full, every charge needs a signed receipt, or the same key has to run the chat models and the uncensored builds.

The one number: the month costed below is $24.80 less on kie.ai than here, against a Google list price of $294.00 for the same work. Every kie.ai figure on this page carries the date it was read and links to the page it came from.

Veo 3.1 and Nano Banana Pro: prices side by side

Both sides sell Google's Veo 3.1 (three tiers, three resolutions, 8-second clips) and Nano Banana Pro (per image). Our column is live from the catalog; kie.ai's is the dollar figure printed on its Veo 3.1 page and Nano Banana Pro page on 2026-10-19; Google's is its Gemini API list, carried in the catalog.

ModelSettingGoogle listkie.ai, 2026-10-19UplinkSwitch
Veo 3.1 Lite720p, 8 s$0.40$0.15$0.24
Veo 3.1 Lite1080p, 8 s$0.64$0.175$0.30
Veo 3.1 Lite4k, 8 s—$0.75$0.45
Veo 3.1 Fast720p, 8 s$0.80$0.30$0.48
Veo 3.1 Fast1080p, 8 s$0.96$0.325$0.54
Veo 3.1 Fast4k, 8 s$2.40$0.90$0.90
Veo 3.1720p, 8 s$3.20$1.25$1.80
Veo 3.11080p, 8 s$3.20$1.275$1.92
Veo 3.14k, 8 s$4.80$1.85$2.88
Nano Banana Pro1K or 2K, per image$0.134$0.09$0.0804
Nano Banana Pro4K, per image$0.24$0.12$0.144

USD per clip or per image. UplinkSwitch: live from GET /v1/catalog/media. kie.ai: https://kie.ai/veo-3-1 and https://kie.ai/nano-banana-pro, read 2026-10-19; its credit prices converted at the dollar figure printed beside them. Google: the Gemini API rate per second times 8, or per image, as the catalog records it.

Per second, since Google bills Veo that way: Veo 3.1 Fast at 1080p is $0.0675 a second here, $0.0406 on kie.ai and $0.12 on Google's API. The Veo 3.1 API pricing page has every tier per second and per clip, and the Nano Banana pricing page has Pro, 2 and 2.1 at every resolution.

The same month on both

A small studio's month: 100 Veo 3.1 Fast clips, 1080p, 20 Veo 3.1 clips, 1080p, 1,000 Nano Banana Pro images, 2K. Costed at each side's price above.

WorkGoogle listkie.ai, 2026-10-19UplinkSwitch
100 Veo 3.1 Fast clips, 1080p$96.00$32.50$54.00
20 Veo 3.1 clips, 1080p$64.00$25.50$38.40
1,000 Nano Banana Pro images, 2K$134.00$90.00$80.40
Month$294.00$148.00$172.80

USD a month, each line the per-unit price above times the count. Our prices are live; a change in the catalog changes this table on the next build.

The gap between the two resellers is $24.80 on $172.80 of work here; the gap to Google's list is $121.20. When the first gap is that size, the billing rules below are what decide, and they are the part of this page that will not move with a price change.

Why the per-clip price is not the whole bill

Video generation fails more often than text does: a prompt trips a safety filter, a frame will not animate, a queue times out. On a reseller whose refund rule you have not read, each failure is a clip you paid for and did not get. At the Veo 3.1 Fast 1080p price here, $0.54 a clip, five failures in the 100 clips above are $2.70 of credit; here they come back automatically, so the month costs what the table says. A reseller that is $24.80 under us on the whole month gives that back after the first few unrefunded failures, and a reseller that charges when the host accepts the task, not when the clip exists, has every reason to tell you how it handles the ones that never finish.

The second line that does not show in a per-clip table is the price lock. Our prices follow the catalog, but each top-up fixes them for 30 days, so a budget set on the first of the month holds to the end of it. The third is the receipt: every charge here has a signed receipt and every month a signed statement, which is what an accountant or a client wants when the media bill is theirs to approve. kie.ai may offer any or all of these; its pages read for this comparison do not say, which is why the table below sends you to its docs rather than guessing.

Feature by feature

Only rows read on kie.ai's own pages carry a kie.ai value; the rest point to its docs rather than guess. Every UplinkSwitch row is documented on the page in the source column.

 kie.aiUplinkSwitchSource
Price basisPrepaid credits, about half a cent each (60 credits ≈ $0.30 on its Veo 3.1 page). A $1,250 top-up adds 10% bonus credits, per its home-page FAQ.Prepaid USD credit from $10, no subscription. Each top-up locks your prices for 30 days.https://kie.ai/veo-3-1, https://kie.ai/, read 2026-10-19; /terms
Free credit80 free credits for new users, per its home-page FAQ.None. Every generation bills from prepaid credit.https://kie.ai/, read 2026-10-19
Price before the renderNot stated on the pages read; see its billing page.The 202 answer carries the exact charge before the clip or image exists./guides/media
Failed generationSee its refund policy, linked from every kie.ai page footer.Refunded in full, automatically; a generation unfinished after six hours is failed and refunded the same way./guides/media; /terms
FilesNot stated on the pages read; see its docs.Served from api.uplinkswitch.com for 30 days./guides/media
Media models347 video, 124 image and 31 music models by its pricing page count.82 image, video, speech and 3D models, each priced per unit with the developer's list price beside it where one is published.https://kie.ai/pricing, read 2026-10-19; /models/media
Chat models on the same key90 chat models by its pricing page count.124 chat models, in the OpenAI format for all of them and the Anthropic and Gemini formats for Claude and Gemini.https://kie.ai/pricing, read 2026-10-19; /models
Request format for imagesIts own task API; see its docs.OpenAI's image API (images.generate in the OpenAI SDK) for every image model; POST /v1/generations for video and everything else./guides/media
ReceiptsNot stated on the pages read.A signed receipt on every charge and a monthly statement, checked at /statements/verify./statements/verify
Is it the real model?Not stated on the pages read.The chat models get a daily real-model check, published at /proof. Media models are not in that check./proof
Uncensored modelsNot stated on the pages read; see its catalog.Uncensored and abliterated chat models, and uncensored image, video and edit models, listed at /uncensored./uncensored

Where kie.ai is the better pick

  • A lower per-clip price on Veo 3.1 at the settings where its published figure is under ours (8 of 11 on 2026-10-19), and a lower per-image price on Nano Banana Pro. For a pipeline that only makes Veo clips, that is the decision.
  • More media models: its pricing page counts 347 video and 124 image models against our 82 across image, video, speech and 3D.
  • A free trial: 80 credits for new users, and 10% bonus credits on a $1,250 top-up, both per its home page on 2026-10-19. There is no free credit here.
  • A playground on every model page, so a prompt can be tried before a line of code.

Where UplinkSwitch is the better pick

  • The price is in the 202 before the clip renders, and a failed generation is refunded in full, automatically, with no claim to file. Over a month of hundreds of clips, the failures are a real line.
  • Each top-up locks your prices for 30 days, so a month's budget holds even when the catalog moves.
  • One key runs the chat models next to the media models, in the OpenAI, Anthropic and Gemini formats, and the image models answer the OpenAI image API, so an existing OpenAI SDK call works unchanged.
  • A signed receipt on every charge and a monthly statement that anyone can check at /statements/verify; the chat models get a daily real-model check at /proof.
  • Uncensored and abliterated chat models and uncensored image, video and edit models on the same key, at /uncensored.
  • The developer's list price printed next to ours on every model page, so the discount is checkable, not claimed.

How to switch

One key from the console and one base URL. Video and every other generation go to POST /v1/generations; images also answer OpenAI's image API, so the OpenAI SDK needs only the base URL and the key changed.

shell
export UPLINK_API_KEY="sk-uplink-live-..."
# one base URL for Veo 3.1, Nano Banana Pro and every chat model:
# https://api.uplinkswitch.com/v1
shell
curl https://api.uplinkswitch.com/v1/generations \
  -H "Authorization: Bearer $UPLINK_API_KEY" \
  -H "Content-Type: application/json" \
  -d '{
    "model": "veo-3.1-fast",
    "input": {
      "prompt": "A paper boat drifting across a pond at sunrise",
      "resolution": "1080p",
      "aspect_ratio": "16:9"
    }
  }'

# 202, price set before the clip renders; poll GET /v1/generations/{id} until succeeded or failed (refunded)
python
from openai import OpenAI

client = OpenAI(base_url="https://api.uplinkswitch.com/v1", api_key="sk-uplink-live-...")
result = client.images.generate(
    model="nano-banana-pro",
    prompt="A ceramic mug on a wooden table, soft morning light",
    size="1536x1024",  # 3:2 at 2K
)
print(result.data[0].url)   # served for 30 days

Model ids are on the media model list and in GET /v1/catalog/media, which needs no key. The media API guide covers settings, polling and billing.

kie.ai questions

Is kie.ai trustworthy?
This page does not rate it. What it can say: kie.ai's model pages print a dollar price per generation, its home page states 80 free credits for new users and a 10% bonus on a $1,250 top-up, and its footer links a refund policy (all read 2026-10-19). On any reseller, check the same four things before you scale: the price is shown before the render, what a failed generation costs, how long files are kept, and whether each charge has a receipt you can verify.
How much does kie.ai cost?
kie.ai sells prepaid credits at about half a cent each. On 2026-10-19 its Veo 3.1 page listed an 8-second Veo 3.1 Fast clip at 60 credits (about $0.30) at 720p and 65 credits (about $0.325) at 1080p, Veo 3.1 Lite at $0.15 and $0.175, and Veo 3.1 at $1.25 and $1.275; its Nano Banana Pro page listed $0.09 an image at 1K or 2K and $0.12 at 4K. Its pricing page has the full list.
Who owns kie.ai?
kie.ai does not say on the pages read for this comparison; its About Us page, linked from its footer, is the place to check. This page compares published prices and billing rules only.
Is kie.ai free?
Not beyond a trial: its home page states 80 free credits for new users (read 2026-10-19), which at its Veo 3.1 Fast price is one 720p clip. After that it is prepaid. UplinkSwitch has no free credit; every generation bills from prepaid credit that starts at $10.
What does the same Veo 3.1 clip cost on UplinkSwitch?
An 8-second Veo 3.1 Fast clip at 1080p is $0.54 here, read live from the catalog, against $0.325 on kie.ai (read 2026-10-19) and $0.96 on Google's own Gemini API. The table above has every setting.
Can I use kie.ai and UplinkSwitch together?
Yes. Both are prepaid with no subscription, so a key on each costs nothing to hold. Send the models where each is under list, and keep the chat models, receipts and refund rule on the UplinkSwitch key.

kie.ai is a trademark of its owner; this page quotes its public pages as read on 2026-10-19 and links each one. Tell us if a figure has changed and it will be re-read.